Home > Reviews, wellness > Review: ilike organic skin care

Review: ilike organic skin care

I’ve been getting a lot of compliments on my skin as of late.  Since my last birthday, I’ve been super vigilant about taking care of my facial skin (the rest of my body, not so much).  What happened?  My mother gave me a full regimen from the skin care line I had been cooing over for more than a year.  It’s a Hungarian skin care line called ilike organic skin care.

ilike organic skin care from szép élet was what proved to me that “organic” didn’t have to mean “weak”.  The skin care regime I was previously using was Jan Marini’s Bioglyolic line, which was amazing and did exactly what I needed it to do… until my skin changed.  Where I used to have a constant stream of oily skin, my face decided to change to combination skin.  The potency of the Jan Marini line soon was drying out my skin terribly.  I went to the Wellness Spa (when I still lived on the west side of L.A.), where I was introduced to ilike’s fantastic line of products.

First thing first — is it really organic? Ok, so I’m a bit picky about this stuff.  They are NOT USDA certified, hence no logo.  They are, however, BDIH certified.  BDIH is the Association of German Industries and Trading Firms for pharmaceuticals, health care products, food supplements and personal hygiene products (www.bdih.de).  This organization is not run by any government, so you are taking the industry’s word on the matter.  They have clearly listed their guidelines, and seem pretty legit, with some American companies (that have earned USDA organic certification) earning BDIH certification.  ilike claims that their products are made from small batches from organically grown and handpicked herbs, fruits and vegetables, and containing the highest possible levels of natural active ingredients.  This claim means no mass production, no genetic engineering, and no synthetics.  They do use preservatives (how else could this stuff have any shelf life?), but it’s limited to compounds like benzoic, salicylic, and sorbic acid (and their conjugate salts).  Is BDIH as good as USDA organic?  That’s for another post, but I would venture to say that 1) it’s different and 2) its better suited for my needs.  (Because they have not submitted their ingredient information to the Cosmetics Database or Skin Deep, they have been branded a “faker” by a couple groups.  The company responds to these claims here).

What makes this “organic” line so special? ilike organic skin care sets itself apart from other organic and natural skin products by the way they use their ingredients.  Where in other companies’ skin care lines you may see the word “extract” a lot, ilike uses herb pulps.  Extracts are beneficial, but ilike claims that herbal pulps are more concentrated than their extracts.  In fact, extracts are often diluted with alcohol to reduce the concentration to almost 25% of full potency.  By using the pulp directly, ilike says their products “soak” up the important nutrients, thereby concentrating the benefits.

Could it work for my skin? The biggest draw to ilike for me was that they had so many products for so many types of skin.  In fact, I think sometimes I’m so drawn to sets or regiments prepackaged (and predetermined!) by companies, that I almost felt a little out of place when I was put in front of so many ilike products.  There’s really no gimmick — each product works best on a different “grade” of skin.  Are you super oily or just slightly oily?  Try the lemon cleansing milk or the mineral exfoliating wash.  Scaly skin?  Try the rosehip gel mask.  Or, my biggest problem, hyperpigmentation (from hormonal imbalance, not sun exposure); you have to try the phytoestrogen cream as your night treatment.  And if your hyperpigmentation is from sunburn (photodamage), try the fibrous stonecrop gel mask as a treatment.  It’s actually pretty easy to get overwhelmed by the products because there are so many.  I’m no aesthetician, either, so I’m pretty happy I got a personalized regime from the wonderful woman doing my facial at the Wellness spa.  She hand-picked each product for my skin for day and night, and I totally would have not been able to figured that out on my on.  If you’re interested in the product line, I would highly suggest going to a spa that carries the line and getting their professional opinion.  If you just want to have a look-see, their product application chart is extremely useful.

What’s your regimen? As follows…

  • Cleanser: Rose Petal Milk – This cleansing milk is super soft and gentle on my skin.  Even though I still have oily skin, I tend to not react very well to oily skin cleansers, creating a red, inflamed, not-so-healthy look.  Quercetin, an antioxidant with anti-inflammatory properties, is key to this effective cleanser, so I can effectively remove impurities as well as hydrate the skin through its high Vitamin E content.  They claim it removes makeup as well, but I use another product to remove makeup (Boscia Makeup Cleasing oil).  Ingredients: Water, Zea Mays, Rose Centifolia, Glycerine, Glyceryl Stearate Citrate, Cetyl Alcohol, Methyl Glucose Sesquistearate, Xanthum Gum, Benzyl Alcohol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Beta Vulgaris, CI 75470 (Carmine), Rosa Damascena, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate, Sodium Salicylate, Salicylic Acid, Geraniol, Citronellol.
  • Toner: Rosehip Toner – This toner almost wakes up my face (in a good way!) right after cleansing.  I feel like my pores are better “balanced.” A combination of salicylic acid to clear the pores and Vitamin C to brighten, tighten, and tone the skin.  My only issue with the product is that I hate the spray top it comes with.  It sprays too wide, so I feel like I’m wasting my awesome toner.  Ingredients: Water, Rosa Canina, Alcohol Denat., Glycerine, Sodium Salicylate, Salicylic Acid, Ascorbic Acid.
  • Moisturizer: Rosehip whipped moisturizer (day) and Phytoestrogen moisturizer (night).  Squee!  The Rosehip whipped moisturizer goes on so light on my skin when I wake up, and everything just glows without making me feel like I stuck something oily on my skin.  It’s a great finisher in the morning after the rosehip toner.  The phytoestrogen moisturizer at night is heavier, but has delivered great results.  Since most of my skin problems are hormonal issues, this cream really comes in handy during TOM.  Just takes care of all those problems that like to stay for a couple days — in fact, it used to be pretty obvious when it was TOM by my facial skin, and now most people can’t tell (unless I’m complaining about it).  Ingredients (rosehip whipped): Water, Rosa Canina, Zea Mays, Glycerine, Glyceryl Stearat SE, Cetyl Alcohol, Potassium Sorbate, Benzyl Alcohol, Sodium Cocoyl Glutamate, Citrus Limon, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Ascorbyl Palmitate, Xanthum Gum, Sodium Salicylate, Sodium Benzoate, Salicylic Acid, Citral, D-Limonene.  Ingredients (phytoestrogen): Water, Linum Usitatissimum, Humulus Lupulus, Trifolium Pratense, Glycerine, Yucca Vera, Glyceryl Stearate Citrate, Ricinus Communis, Vitis Vinifera, Calendula Officinalis, Stearic Acid, Cetearyl Alcohol, Butyrospermum Parkii, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate, Lavandula Angustifolia, Sodium Cocoyl Glutamate, Cetyl Alcohol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Vitamin E, Citric Acid, Sodium Salicylate, Linalool, Benzyl Alcohol, Benzyl Salicylate, Eugenol, Amyl Cinnamal, Butylphenyl Methylpropional
  • (I have been enriching my moisturizers with Vitamin E oil from Trader Joe’s, and I have started to incorporate L’Occitane’s Very Precious Brightening Concentrate underneath the moisturizer after toning.)

I am up to buying the rosehip exfoliator next, to up my facial pampering during the week!  (It’s on my wishlist, for anyone interested…)

Ok, I’ll bite — where can I buy it? Well, I buy my products from www.skinbotanica.com, since they often have coupons to counter some of the cost.  And it’s not cheap!  So, I’ll take whatever I can get!  If you’re interested in buying a travel or try-me kit, go to Skin Care by Alana.  Just to let you know — a little goes a long way for these products.  I think I use 1-2 squirts of anything squirtable, and just a few “dots” of the moisturizers cover my whole face.  Maybe I should use more, but I’m seeing great results for so little!

What, there’s this cheaper brand, Eminence…? I don’t know the whole story about it, but basically it seems Eminence used to be the U.S. supplier for Ilsci but then didn’t actually follow their contracts so they broke up.  From ilike, they stated:

Eminence Organic Skin Care Ltd. (Vancouver, Canada) was the distributor for the territory of USA and Canada of Ilcsi products under the brand Eminence from 2002 until 31st March 2005 only… Ilcsi Beautifying Herbs Hungary have not supplied any Ilcsi products to them.  The current Eminence products are no longer associated in any way with Aunt Ilcsi Molnar or her family owned company.

Eminence Organic Skin Care trademarked the word “Ilcsi”, which is the international brand and the nickname of the creator of the products they used to distribute from Ilcsi Beautifying Herbs Hungary until the spring of 2005.  For this reason Aunt Ilcsi’s products can not be marked under her name in the U.S. or Canada and are now called ilike, which is another nickname for her.  The ilike organic skin care products are the same Ilcsi products and are not associated in any way with Eminence Organic Skin Care

Eminence has come out with some new products bearing the USDA organic certification, but it sounds like they burned a lot of skin care houses with inferior products when they first made the switch.  Frankly, I know ilike is a little more money and I’m as cheap as they come, but if I’m paying a little more to make sure it’s the real thing, it’s ok with me.  I wouldn’t mind trying some Eminence products when they come on sale, but be forewarned — I see the word extract more than pulp in their ingredients list, which is what (according to ilike) makes ilike so awesome.

Live beautifully, all. I know I (try to) do.  :)

Categories: Reviews, wellness Tags: , ,
  1. Andriana
    June 2, 2010 at 6:30 am | #1

    If you want REAL Organic, try Seaflora Wild Organic SKincare from BC- USDA and OCIA Organic certified – they even have the certifics posted on their website! I really enjoy their sea splash spray cleanser. I’ve always struggled with finding something that would not irritate my combination skin. Either I’d break out, or I’d flake.not this one! must be the seaweeds! And it lasts forever! I guess because it’s foam, you don’t through it as quickly.

    • hottiescientist
      June 2, 2010 at 1:45 pm | #2

      Thanks for your response! I will definitely try to see if I can get samples to Seaflora; it sounds great. I’m always up to trying new things. Does it actually foam up out of the bottle or is it just referring to “sea foam” as core ingredient? Because I wonder how it’s a concentrate if it foams because the easiest way to create foam out of cleansers is to dilute the solutions and place it in a bottle that allows the pump to create foam as the diluted liquid travels up the tube.

      But I would warn you though… I went to http://www.skinbotanica.com to get an individualized ingredient list since I couldn’t find it quickly on their own website for the Sea Foam Cleansing Concentrate and in the midst of all those lovely organic materials: Phenoxyethanol (http://skinbotanica.com/Seaflora-Sea-Foam-Cleansing-Concentrate.html). It is a preservative — that’s how it can last forever — to inhibit microbrial growth which using Skin Deep’s rating system has a hazard score of 4 (http://www.cosmeticsdatabase.com/ingredient/704811/PHENOXYETHANOL/). Not saying Skin Deep is the end all of all organic/natural ratings, but the preservatives ilike uses are usually 0s, 1s, and 2s (ilike’s products aren’t on the website but you can go and search each ingredient individually — it takes a while though).

      There are definitely some people who would immediately call Sea Flora for the use of phenoxyethanol not “real organic.” I see that Sea Flora claims that they use their phenoxyethanol from a plant derived source, but that’s seriously another post for me to write up another day (plant derived toxicity vs. nonplant derived nontoxicity). But hey, if it doesn’t aggravate YOU and YOU love it, that’s awesome and what matters!

  2. April 27, 2011 at 2:14 am | #3

    Check out the only site exclusive to ilike organic skin care. We are here to educate and recommend ilike for your personal skin type and conditions. Contact us today.

  3. May 13, 2011 at 7:18 am | #4

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and experience. after reading this i have got lot of knowledge. Skin problem is basic problem many people are suffering from this type of problems. you had share many tips that is very useful for us.

  4. May 31, 2011 at 3:14 pm | #5

    Ilike is the same as Ilcsi. But Emenience organics is a completely different brand altogether.

    Due to copyright issues they had to change the name from Ilcsi to Ilike in the US

  5. Naziya
    February 14, 2012 at 5:25 am | #6

    Hey I have a question regarding the ilike skin care product line . Is it totally plant derived ingredients in there. And also where can I purchase this product in Vancouver Canada . And I watched some reviews about them on youtube and was actually interested in the lemon cleansing milk and the st johns wort eye cream . Do they have it in Canada. And if so have you used it and what do you think of it.

    Regards
    Naz

    • Dre
      May 21, 2012 at 12:08 am | #7

      You can buy Ilike products in Vancouver…check it out! http://www.facebook.com/ElizabethGreenStudio

      Hope this helps!

      • June 7, 2012 at 3:06 pm | #8

        Cool!! Thanks For the tip Dre, I’ll be sure to check out Elizabeth Green!

    • T.San
      March 27, 2013 at 2:19 am | #9

      You can find Ilike organic skincare in
      Richmond vancouver.I just got some Ilike
      products in Maycrest way,richmond.BC,
      V6V 2N8, Canada.

  6. Kim Diedrich
    March 3, 2012 at 1:12 am | #10

    Does Ilike test on animals?

    • June 7, 2012 at 3:04 pm | #11

      No, ilike. absolutely does not test on animals.

  7. Rachael W
    April 3, 2012 at 3:31 pm | #12

    Thank you for the information regarding ILIKE vs Eminence. That really helped me decide which product I was going to purchase and use. I do have a question regarding the Eminence Sun Defense Minerals with SPF 30. I am interested in that product for an everyday makeup but I do not see that ILIKE sells anything similar to the product Eminence carries. Any suggestion as to a good Organic Mineral powder that is waterproof and will not clog my pores? I appreciate the advice.

    Thank you,

    Rach

  8. Ann I
    April 7, 2012 at 10:46 am | #14

    I have really sensitive skin and was reacting badly to preservatives in some major skin care brands until I came across Eminence Organics through the spa that I had worked in. Ever since I started using the Eminence organics products my skin has improved tremendously and I no longer suffer from redness, itch, flakiness and sensitivities.

    • July 1, 2013 at 10:39 am | #15

      Great Experience All Around. A good friend of mine referred me to this medical Supper Spa. I had been considering doing something to improve my skin. I’m in my late 20s and starting to see some of the effects of all those years in the sun (sun spots, pigmentation, discoloration). In addition, I have suffered for years with cystic acne and as a result had some pitted scarring. I finally decided to bite the bullet and make an appt. The space was beautiful, everyone was so friendly, and the consultation was very thorough and informative (and free!). I subsequently had several laser treatments and have had fantastic results. I’ve never had skin that I felt confident going out without makeup on, and now I do. I had very enlarged pores which made me self-conscious. My skin is smoother, my scarring has greatly reduced, and my overall tone and color of my skin is much improved and more youthful. I am so happy I took her advice and came here for treatment. They are wonderful! and made me look even more wonderful thanks Ultra Medic!!!!!
      http://www.ultramedicskin.ca/products/

  9. Cindy
    April 28, 2012 at 12:06 am | #16

    This is great info. I just started using Ilike and I really like their products. I had also read about the issues with the Eminence line and decided they were just a little too questionable as far as the integrity of their products go. I wish Ilike would get USDA Organic certified, though. Another really great organic line is Dr. Alkaitis. I use that, as well, and it’s pretty fantastic. Thanks again!

  10. June 7, 2012 at 3:12 pm | #17

    Just an FYI about USDA certification. In order to get a product USDA certified, it needs to be manufactured in the US…which is why Ilike cannot possibly be USDA certified, as the products are only made in Hungary :) Hope that helps!

    • hottiescientist
      June 8, 2012 at 4:23 am | #18

      Well, a lot of parts of they package are still done over here. But Alana, who runs her own very awesome spa, is saying that Ilike is USDA certified now!

    • Cindy
      July 13, 2012 at 12:10 am | #19

      Good to know. I didn’t realize that. Thanks! :)

      • Gigi
        September 11, 2012 at 6:23 pm | #20

        It’s pronounced Eē-leek-uh.
        I would want to pronounce it correctly if I were sharing knowledge about a product. Trying to be helpful, not condescending. :)

  11. August 28, 2013 at 4:49 pm | #21

    Some of the best things to do and purchase to allow you not to at least the 1940s, when home cooks were
    willing to banh trung thu try anything new. Put Lemon banh trung thu Filling recipe follows onto the bottom of the pan.
    A wedding cake topping or topper can be displayed to bring out
    our youthful frivolity, yet a dessert ohso incredibly adult.
    Pour the batter into the cake is still intact.

  12. September 8, 2013 at 1:46 am | #22

    I just could not leave your website prior to suggesting
    that I extremely loved the standard information an individual supply
    in your visitors? Is gonna be back frequently in order to investigate cross-check
    new posts

  1. August 14, 2011 at 5:50 pm | #1
  2. April 27, 2013 at 9:49 pm | #2

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

